Background Image

Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship

Summary of Award

The Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Program was established by Congress in 1986 to honor Senator Barry M. Goldwater, who served his country for 56 years as a soldier and statesman, including 30 years of service in the U.S. Senate. The purpose of the Foundation is to provide a continuing source of highly qualified scientists, mathematicians, and engineers by awarding scholarships to college students who intend to pursue careers in these fields. About 300 are awarded annually by the federally endowed Goldwater Foundation.


Maximum of $7,500 annually for tuition, fees, books, and room and board.  Junior scholarship recipients are eligible for a maximum of two years of scholarship support.  Senior scholarship recipients are eligible for a maximum of one year of scholarship support.  Monies not used during one academic year are not transferrable to the succeeding academic year.


  • Major: Science, mathematics, and engineering majors with research experience. (Includes medical research)
  • GPA: ~3.85
  • 1 research experience for sophomores, 2 for juniors.


Honors Program Director

Application Process

  • Application
  • Personal Essay on chosen career
  • 3 letters of recommendation
  • High school/ college transcripts

See scholarship website for due date of Application and supporting documents.

Link to Scholarship Homepage 

Past CU Winners and Where They Are Now  


Martin LaFleur - Biomolecuar Science, Senior
Nicholas Restaino - Chemical Engineering, Senior


Devon Jedamski - Aeronautical and Mechanical Engineering, Senior
Jeevaka Somartna - Civil and Mechanical Engineering, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champagne 
Guangtao (Taotao) Zhang - Mechanical Engineering and Applied Mathematics & Stastics, MIT

Katelynn Wilton - Computer Science & Biology & Premed, Mayo Clinic

Eleanor Davis - Applied Math & Statistics, University of Texas
Kelsie Timbie - Chemical Engineering, University of Virginia
Andrew Davis - Honorable Mention, Mathematics, MIT

Ryan Watkins - Aeronautical Engineering, University of Michigan
Sayuri Yapa - Mechanical Engineering, PhD student at Stanford University

Jeffrey Ward - Math & Computer Science, National Security Administration
Samuel Gorton  - Chemical Engineering, Master/Ph.D. student at University of Vermont
Niall Mangan - Bio/Physics, Ph.D. student at Harvard University
Christy Petruczok - Chemical Engineering, Ph.D. student at MIT

Andrew Bingham - Mechanical & Aeronautical Engineering, Jet Propulsion Lab
Norman Marshall - Chemistry, University of Chicago

Keith Jackson - Aeronautical Engineering, Raytheon

Nadeeka Yapa - Electrical Engineering, Raytheon
Ryan Turner- Chemical Engineering, Ph.D. student; Cal Tech

Thomas Hooper - Mechanical Engineering, Knolls Atomic Power Labs, Nuclear Operations Program

Kirsten Griffiths - Chemistry, Ph.D, University of Georgetown Law School

Michael Moravan - Chemistry, MD/Ph.D. at University of Rochester