Background Image

Recent Fulbright Scholars

In this Section

The Fulbright Program, the U.S. Government’s flagship international exchange program, is designed to increase mutual understanding between the people of the United States and people of other countries. It promotes leadership development through learning and international cooperation.

The Fulbright Program operates in more than 155 countries worldwide and has provided participants -- chosen for their academic merit and leadership potential -- with the opportunity to study, teach or conduct research in each others’ countries and exchange ideas.

Over the years, many Clarkson faculty members have been recognized for their excellence in research and teaching by being named Fulbright Scholars. Recent Fulbrights and projects include:


Shane Rogers, Coulter School of Engineering (Civil & Environmental Engineering)
Norwegian University of Science and Technology/Foundation for Scientific and Industrial Research (SINTEF)
Rogers will conduct a research project on the use of macroalgae,an emerging aquaculture commodity, for bioextraction of nutrients from coastal waters impacted by human activities. He will combine experimental and modeling approaches to investigate seasonal variations and water quality impacts on kelp growth that will improve development of this important industry.

Martin Heintzelman, School of Business
Fulbright Visiting Research Chair in the Environment and Economy at the University of Ottawa's Institute of the Environment from November to April.  Heintzelman, an environmental economist, will be researching the intersection of local policies, property values and new energy facilities. In particular, he will focus on how property values are affected by new energy facilities, such as wind farms, pipelines or power lines, and how increasing the amount of oil transported by rail is perceived by homeowners in light of well-publicized incidents, such as the rail disaster at Lac Megantic, Quebec.

Michelle L. Crimi, Institute for a Sustainable Environment
University of KwaZulu-Natal in Durban, South Africa
Crimi's award is for a combined teaching/research experience where she develops a new collaborative course, “Sustainable Industrial Waste Management: Global Challenges and Opportunities,” taught simultaneously at Clarkson University and UKZN.

Devon A. Shipp, School of Arts & Sciences (Chemistry & Biomolecular Science)
University of Ljubljana and the Slovenian National Institute of Chemistry in Slovenia
Shipp's award is for working with leading researchers at the University of Ljubljana and the Slovenian National Institute of Chemistry, studying new hybrid biodegradable polymer materials that have great potential in the medical field, such as for drug delivery and wound healing.

Annegret D. Staiger, School of Arts & Sciences (Anthropology)
University of Cluj Napoca and West University of Timisoara in Romania
Staiger's award is to research will how the Romanian state responds to Romanian women who are working in the German sex industry.

Allan A. Zebedee, School of Business (Finance)
University of Roehampton in London, England
Project: Conducting research examining corporate scandals and the interplay between government regulations, corporate governance, and executive behavior, with a particular focus on differences between the United States and the United Kingdom.

Chris Robinson, Department of HU/SS (Political Science)
Sogang University, Seoul, South Korea
Project: Teach courses in human rights and environmental political theory

Laura Ettinger, Department of HU/SS (History)
University of Rijeka; Rijeka, Croatia
Project: teaching in the English Studies program, lecturing on her research throughout Croatia

Owen Brady, Department of HU/SS (Literature)
University of Thessaloniki, Thessaloniki, Greece
Project: Analyzing the African American Home in the Drama of
Amiri Baraka and August Wilson

Lew Hinchman, Department of HU/SS (Political Science)
University of Bonn, German
Project: Lecturing American Politics and Political Thought

Augustine Abulu Lado, Consumer and Organizational Studies,
School of Business 
Mbarara University of Science and Technology, Mbarara, Uganda
Project: Lecturing and Research: Strategic Networks; Capital
Formation and Entrepreneurship Development

Tom Langen, Department of Biology
National Autonomous University of Costa Rica, Heredia, Costa Rica
Project: Impact of roads on Costa Rican National Parks, the Institute
for Conservation & Wildlife Management

For a complete list of Fulbright Scholars.

Michelle Crimi, Devon Shipp and Annegret Staiger

Fulbright Scholar 2014
Three Clarkson University professors are preparing to lead classes and conduct research in South Africa, Romania, and Slovenia in fall 2014 as recipients of prestigious Fulbright Scholar Awards.

These three -- Michelle L. Crimi, associate professor in the Institute for a Sustainable Environment; Devon A. Shipp, professor of chemistry & biomolecular science; and Annegret D. Staiger, associate professor of anthropology  -- bring to nine the number of Clarkson University faculty members to receive Fulbright Awards over the past six years. In all, 37 members of the faculty have received Fulbright Awards.

"Clarkson is very proud of our participation in the Fulbright program," said Clarkson Provost and Senior Vice President Chuck Thorpe. "This year, we have three outstanding professors, headed to three far-flung locations, to work on three very different topics. We know, based on our past experience, that they will come back enriched from their time overseas -- they will have expanded both their professional and their personal horizons. We look forward to welcoming them back to campus to share their new insights and experiences with us."

Read more.